Posted by: ae | January 25, 2010

“We are the women our parents warned us against, and we are proud.”

As a student in twentieth century feminist history, I was intrigued by the ways feminism shaped the lives of women today. This blog is dedicated to the women who stood up for themselves and for the generations of women that followed. Their movement is wrapped around the way women speak, act, work, and love today. Unfortunately, the changes are so accepted today that they are often taken for granted.

This blog will document both acts of feminism in the twenty-first century and the ways that the history of feminism has shaped the lives of women today. It is an ode to those past and present: I will respond to books, articles, film, and art; I will profile some extraordinary women; I will share my own thoughts and writing.

To share the legacy of feminism is to demonstrate that its history has not been taken for granted.


Responses

  1. Sounds great, looking forward to reading more.

  2. I think this blog will an important contribution to feminist culture and body of work. I look forward to learning more.


Leave a comment

Categories